• Chimney Inspections NFPA Level 1, 2, 3

  • Level 1 Chimney Inspection

    A Level 1 inspection is the recommended level when an evaluation of the chimney system for continued service is needed and the conditions of use are not changing.  This could include:  routine or annual evaluations of the venting system, an appliance connected to the system is being replaced with a similar appliance, or during chimney cleaning or sweeping.

    A Level 1 inspection is limited to readily accessible portions of the venting system, and accessible portions of the connected appliance and the chimney connection.  The inspector will check the readily accessible portion of the chimney, its enclosing structure, and the flue. A Level 1 inspection includes verification that the flue is not blocked of significantly restricted.

  • Level 2 Chimney Inspection

    A Level 2 inspection is more detailed and thorough than a Level 1 inspection and is the recommended inspection when conditions of use for the appliance or venting system are changing or when a Level 1 inspection reveals the need for a more detailed inspection.  Several instances where a Level 2 inspection is specifically recommended include:  replacement of an appliance with one of a different type, input rating or efficiency, prior to flue relining, upon sale or transfer of the property, after an event likely to have caused damage to the chimney such as a chimney fire or other sudden occurrence event.

    A Level 2 inspection includes all of the requirements of a Level 1 inspection as well as the following:  

    *Inspection of accessible areas of attics, basements, and crawlspaces

    *Accessible areas of the chimney exterior and interior

    *Accessible portions of the appliance and chimney connection

    *Video scanning or other thorough inspection of the flue interior

    *Evaluation of the flue lining to determine that its material and sizing is appropriate for the appliances being served

    *Proper clearance to combustibles in the accessible areas listed above

    *Proper construction and condition of the chimney system in the accessible areas listed above.

  • Level 3 Chimney Inspection

    A Level 3 inspection is the most detailed of all the inspection types and includes inspection of concealed areas of the building. However, examination of concealed areas will be limited to areas reasonably suspected of containing hazards that cannot be evaluated otherwise.

    A Level 3 inspection includes all areas covered in a Level 1 and 2 inspection and inspection of concealed areas to investigate known or suspected problems. In cases where certain portions of a Level 3 inspection require destructive action to the building, the inspector will discuss these areas with the building owner prior to the inspection.

  • Frequency of Inspection

    Then NFPA recommends that all chimneys, fireplaces, and vents be inspected annually. In addition to this requirement, there are other times when chimney and venting systems should be inspected such as:

    *After any unusual or sudden event like a chimney fire, lightning strike or earthquake

    *Prior to purchasing a home with an existing chimney

    *Whenever changes are made to a chimney or vent system, including replacement of connected appliances

    *Prior to major system repairs


    No matter what level of inspection you require, Heath Chimney Services makes sure your chimney is efficient, operating properly, and most importantly, conducive for use before you want to enjoy the warmth of a fire.